Swim: All League 22-23


Athlete of the Year: Logan Noguchi, Torrey Pines

A Princeton commit, Noguchi is a back-to-back Athlete of the Year. He had a spectacular day at the CIF-San Diego Section Championships, setting a section record of 47.40 seconds in the 100 butterfly.
He placed fourth at the state meet with a time of 47.28. Noguchi won the CIF-San Diego Section championship in the 100 backstroke by more than 2 seconds, then placed fifth in the state. In the relays, he anchored the 400 that won by more than 6 seconds in San Diego and placed eighth in the state. He swam the lead leg of the 200 medley relay that set a San Diego Section record of 1:32.43, then placed fifth in the state, going 1:32.03.

First team

Event: Name; School; Yr.

200 medley relay: Aaron Dumas (Jr.), Rick Lundh (Sr.), Cathal Ryan (Sr.), Ken Eckel (Jr.), Cathedral Catholic

200 freestyle: Samuel Quarles; Coronado; Sr.

200 IM: Zane Johnson; Eastlake; So.

50 freestyle: Jacob Chu; San Pasqual; Jr.

Diving: Andres Sanchez; San Ysidro; Sr.

100 butterfly: Logan Noguchi; Torrey Pines; Jr.

100 freestyle: Samuel Quarles; Coronado; Sr.

500 freestyle: Julien Rousseau; Del Norte; So.

200 freestyle relay: SamueI Quarles (Sr.), Gage Everitt (Fr.), David Abdul Samad (Jr.), Jake Finch (Sr.), Coronado

100 backstroke: Logan Noguchi; Torrey Pines; Jr.

100 breaststroke: Andrew Ko; Canyon Crest Academy; Sr.

400 freestyle relay: Ezra Purcell (Jr.), Kane Lozano (So.), Elek Zettle (Jr.), Logan Noguchi (Jr.), Torrey Pines.

Coach of the Year: None chosen

Note: Based on finish at San Diego Section Championships

2023 All-CIF boys swimming team – The San Diego Union-Tribune (



Athlete of the Year: Kathryn Hazle, University City HS

Bound for Cal, Hazle set a San Diego Section record in winning the 200-yard individual medley at the Section Championships, clocking a time of 1 minute 58.96 seconds. She bettered that, going 1:58.36 to place second at the state meet. She also won the 500 freestyle at the state meet after winning Division II in San Diego. Hazle was part of the winning 200 medley relay team and the 400 freestyle relay team that placed second in San Diego.

First team

Event: Name; School; Yr.

200 medley relay: Catherine Rowe (Fr.), Kadence La (Fr.), Delaney Alonso (Jr.), Ashley Rowe (Sr.), Mt. Carmel

200 freestyle: Isa Chavez-Varela; Mater Dei Catholic; So.

Megan F. Nogle, Counsel, Private Client Services, Greenberg Glusker LLP

200 IM: Kathryn Hazel; University City; Sr.

50 freestyle: Rachel Yang; Torrey Pines; Jr.

Diving: Sol D’Angelo; Mt. Carmel; Fr.

100 butterfly: Arielle Brotman; La Jolla; Jr.

100 freestyle: Ashley Hardin; Bonita Vista; Sr.

500 freestyle: Kathryn Hazel; University City; Sr.

200 freestyle relay: Sophie Kelley (So.), Katerina Weifeldt (Fr.), Aya Ferguson (Jr.), Rachel Yang (Jr.), Torrey Pines

100 backstroke: Keirlyn Mullica; Sage Creek; Sr.

100 breaststroke: Arielle Brotman; La Jolla; Jr.

400 freestyle relay: Lauren Putnam (So.), Madison McCormick (Fr.), Gabby Esposito (Fr.), Cassidy Allison (So.), San Marcos

Coach of the Year: None chosen

Note: Based on finish at San Diego Section Championships.

Kathryn Hazel; University City; Sr.

Arielle Brotman; La Jolla; Jr.